top of page
  • Writer's pictureLPMurphy Equestrian, LLC

Two field trips in one week? I'm on a roll!!!

Another great outing for Ozzy and me today! We travelled to Thoroughbred Training Center (a local Equestrian Center) for a lesson with Jessica Bortner Harris of JBH Eventing. She was really able to help me solidify and confirm a lot of the things I've been thinking about/ working on with Ozzy.


I am very pleased with the progress we are making and although Ozzy was the only horse within 100 yards or so of the arena, and he was a little nervous about it at first, he was able to go into work mode very quickly! Although the tension to the left was there in full swing today, Jessica helped me work him through it, and shed some light on the fact that my left hip was quite rigid, which certainly wasn't doing him any favors and helped me with my outside aids following through on the turn. She had me include leg yielding (which he was very responsive too) on the change across the diagonal to help him balance and bend for the change of direction. We also focused on using the leg to help lift the lower back and encourage the stretch.


A big thank you to Zach (my husband) and one of my students for coming along today and being super helpful!













16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Long Awaited Spring Has Finally Arrived

As usual, life has been getting in the way of my own riding time. Other than getting on for a few minutes bareback here and there and one particularly disappointing work session (that I neglected to b

bottom of page